Barack Obama transcends ___________________? (fill in the blank)

Last month, I went to a Christian conference for college students. The speaker was a young, white male, highly educated, liberal with a goatie – basically the stereotypical emergent. He played a speech that Martin Luther King gave in 1968 before he was assassinated. Then he went onto say that 40 years later, his dream was being realized by the candidacy of Barack Obama. He talked about how Obama was transcendent and bringing all these young people into the process. He said they should watch his “Yes We Can” video on youtube. Now, I was a wee bit perturbed. First, I just have a problem with someone in a religious context, whether at a conference or at a pulpit, publicly advocating a political candidate. He didn’t full out say it, but it was extremely obvious. But what it just showed me was how for many white liberals, they look at Barack Obama as some kind of transcendent figure.

From the beginning, many people, especially white liberals wanted to make Obama into some kind of heroic figure that transcends all of our social ills. So it goes like this:

Obama transcends ________ (fill in the blank) (race? politics? religion? everything?)

I don’t look toward politics for transcendental transformations. I don’t look toward the president of the United States as a messiah. I look for those things in my religious faith. I don’t need a political messiah, because I find that in Jesus. All I expect from my president is the two C’s, competence and compassion, the two things that have been lacking in our current president. I’m not expecting the president to come save me. I’m expecting that he or she will do the best they can, leading with competence and compassion. I know Hillary Clinton is no saint. But neither is Barack Obama. I’m not looking to them to be the messiah who has come to save us. If Obama becomes president, racism will still persist and we must continue to deal with those issues honestly. In the same way, if Clinton becomes president, sexism will still persist and we must also continue to deal with those issues honestly. We can’t cheapen the pain and difficulty of those issues by elevating a candidate to the position of messiah who will come and erase the painful history of this nation’s social ills and divisions.

I know that some white people are drawn to Obama because of his supposed “post-racial” campaign. (what does “post-racial mean?) Anyways, for some white liberals, they are excited about the opportunity to vote for an African American. They will be able to tell their grandkids that they voted for the first African American president. Latte liberals do relate to him because he went to an Ivy League college and law school. They like the feeling of relating to an African American. As Shelby Steele states, Obama is a bargainer. He doesn’t rub racism in the faces of white people and in turn, white people return that kindness with their support. Other African Americans running for president in the past, like Jesse Jackson and Al Sharpton were challengers, those who reminded white people of the legacy of white supremacy. Of course, Obama has to run a campaign that attracts white voters or else he won’t win. That is a given. He has to navigate a very difficult balancing act in this election because he is an African American. He has to take into account things a white candidate would not have to, which is of course not fair, but the reality of the nation we live in.

However, there is definitely a group of white liberals out there who want to turn Obama into some transcendent, post-racial hero because it releases their guilt about this nation’s history with white supremacy. It’s funny when I talk to some white liberals and point this out and they get extremely defensive. They act like I insulted their mother.

I’ve noticed that most white liberals would rather be called a sexist than a racist. I’ve heard some pretty sexist things said about Hillary Clinton by so-called “progressives.” When confronted, they will say nonchalantly, I’m not saying that about all women, it’s just about her. Hmmm. But if you even just whisper any implication of racism, they will cower in fear or protest vehemently. It’s just an interesting dynamic.

It’s sad to me that the historic candidacies of both Hillary Clinton and Barack Obama have created such conflict and opening up wounds of race and gender. When I hear some Obama supporters who think Clinton is a bigot and Clinton supporters who think Obama is a mysogynist, I think it’s extremely disheartening. I think it’s great that supporters from each side make their case for each candidate. That’s what I do on my blog. However, I even have to catch myself taking a step back from politics because it gets emotionally engrossing. I have to be reminded of the limitations of politics. Moreover, I have to continue to keep my eyes on the larger goal of electing a Democrat to the White House, especially after the debacle of this current president. Anyways, it’ll be interesting to see what happens from here.

4 comments

  1. Thank you for trying to be objective when it would be so easy to be subjective and vitriolic.

    “because it releases their guilt about this nation’s history with white supremacy. It’s funny when I talk tos white liberal and point this out and they get extremely defensive. They act like I insulted their mother.”

    Excellent observation!
    here is my link hope you have no objection.
    http://justlearningman.wordpress.com

  2. I Voted For Hilary Clinton
    But camparing Jeremiah Wright to John McCain Minister ,,You
    Can not compare,,, John McCain,, the minister he know just gave him Money,,he does not Go to his church,,, He did not Baptise john McCain kids,,, he is not on John McCain Campaign,, Just gave John McCain money,,, to compare him with Jeremiah Wright is something the Media, and the Obama Camapaign,, doing,,Barack Obama Has a Racist man who worked on his Campaign,, Jeremiah Wright, ,, who helped Barack with the title of his book,,, who baptise his kids, Barack Obama Miinister, gave Louis Farrahkan life time achievement award, ,,, Barack Obama who went to this Racist mans church,,, for 20 years,

    Whats even sad is Barack Obama, followers don’t even Care, He can run over a person right now ,,, and people will still follow him,,, but one thing is for certain Barack no matter what, just lost this election,,, even if he wins the primary,,, from Hilary,,, Barack can not win a big state, Hilary followers will not back Barack Obama,,, just like if Hilary wins the primary,,, Barack Obama followers will not back Hilary ,,,,,
    Obama is definitely Not Muslim, but he is a closet Racist, who employed a racist,, of all Racist, ,,,,, he is done
    Watch Obama weblink

  3. It’s facile to accuse Obama supporters of seeing a messiah in their candidate – and going even farther in claiming that they “treat” him like one is just plain wrong.

    You do insult white Americans by claiming that they support Obama as a way to deal with “their guilt about this nation’s history with white supremacy.” In fact, that’s an incredibly insulting thing to say. I have never been a racist or participated in racist ideology, and I have no guilt whatsoever to deal with. I just happen to know when certain things are wrong – like racism. Still, that is no why I choose to support Barack Obama – he’s simply the best person for the job. That he is of mixed ethnicity is ancillary to that fact, and is absolutely secondary.

    Would I like to see the progress indicated by our nation electing a person of color to our highest office? Of course – it’s a shame that we haven’t progressed enough to have passed that hurdle already. Will that happening lift some sort of mythical yoke of white guilt? You gotta be kidding me.

    The tactics emanating from your camp are divisive. Not based on race – but on decency. I supported the Clinton legacy for years, against scathing conservative attacks. My conservative friends are laughing in my face. They have every right to. The Clintons have proved me wrong, and I can no longer defend them.

    Will I support Hillary Clinton if she becomes the nominee? Absolutely not. It’s a sad thing to say, and I feel betrayed that I’ve been pushed to this point, but I cannot support this sort of tactical pursuit of power at all costs. The means still have meaning to me. The ends be damned.

    Will I vote for a Republican? Never.

    What has Obama every said to deserve being called a misogynist? You’re the first I’ve ever heard mention this. Please – elucidate.

  4. why does everyone get so defensive about this:

    “However, there is definitely a group of white liberals out there who want to turn Obama into some transcendent, post-racial hero because it releases their guilt about this nation’s history with white supremacy. It’s funny when I talk to some white liberals and point this out and they get extremely defensive. They act like I insulted their mother.”

    Racism isn’t just an explicit thing these days. Racism has turned from being such an explicit thing to something that is inherent. Sure racism has changed from being a supporter of the white supremacy movement. However even though racism is no longer like that, it doesn’t necessarily mean racism is over. Racism is inherent in its institutional form. There are many many examples of institutional racism. It surrounds us everyday and it’s not always easy to spot.

    This article by Peggy McIntosh, White Privilege: Unpacking the Invisible Knapsack, is a great at detailing how racism can be so subtle, it’s hard to see it. http://seamonkey.ed.asu.edu/~mcisaac/emc598ge/Unpacking.html

    When people of a higher socioeconomic background or social status, more often than not whites, complain about how their spots in collegiate admissions or their jobs are being taken by supposedly “less qualified” people of color. That’s racism. How do you know that they’re “less qualified”? What makes a certain person entitled to a job or a spot in an university? It’s when you assume that you deserve that spot and blame the other person, who happens to be a person of color, for why you didn’t get that job, is racism.

    So for many whites, to support a candidate like Barack can be a way out of the guilt and shame they may hold from this sphere of racism. To support a candidate who is mixed, and is identified to be a person of color can be a freeing choice.

Leave a Reply

